Thigh magnets?

edited February 2015 in Magnets
Let me start out by saying I have zero experience with magnet implants and only really think about these concepts. I've just been mulling over this idea in my brain for a little while. I don't want to bring out the whole "why carry a gun?" "concealed carry isn't necessary" arguments here, just want to talk about feasibility of this type of implant.

Anyone ever notice that most cargo pant/shorts are of suitable height and width to fit a handgun in? With the right positioning, flaps, and Velcro connectors it is quite easy to slip you hand into the pants and draw a pistol. One problem however, even light weight handguns tend to flop around in the pocket and sag in your pockets making this method of carry impractical. I had an idea once to design a leg strap with magnets to hold the gun close to your leg through the pocket and to secure it for vigorous movement, but I haven't really gotten around to it. A strap may still be the best option for this, but after recently discovering the world of bio-hacking, I wondered if it was possible to have two magnet implants on one's thigh large enough to be able to support a pistol by attaching in two places on the slide of the pistol. Just an idea, the magnets would be need to adequately support a weight of 35 oz. with limited movement, but not so strong as to pull out your skin every time you drew your gun. Don't know if it would even work well enough to justify limited surgery.

Comments

• magnets are not really suited for this. they have the unpleasent property to attract other magnetic objects and the closer those get, the bigger the force. so you would probably end up damaging your skin by having it squeezed between magnet and whatever is on the other side.

if that doesn't hold you off, BOLA sells PTFE shrinking-tube that could be used to wrap around bigger objects to bioproof them (given you seal the ends)