I'd like to open a discussion with your group

edited February 2015 in Community
Hi there,

I am an aspiring author of science fiction stories, and I'd like to open a channel of communication with your group in order to better understand your motivations, thoughts, insights and ideas in regards to the future of grinding and human enhancement.

Me: I'm a 30 year old family man, married with one daughter. I am a technical writer for a software company that has a printing-related software suite, and I love to write.

The "Story": What I envision is an extremely wide possible future and this post is too small to explain it all. However, I have started a blog where I basically do brain dumps, and some of the existing posts may be enough to understand where I'm coming from (especially my last "Timeline" post). But really quickly, I think in our future (perhaps in our timeline) we will start enhancing ourselves with implants that overlay the sense, often called Augmented Reality (think "borg" without the evil collective, or "HUDs" in the real world), followed by a full virtual immersion ("Matrix") and then a transfer of our mind into the computer ("Tron"). All through this, I envision Grinders being always at the cutting edge, a subculture that keeps ahead of the bulk of the population in the use of implants and enhancements.

What I Am Looking For Here: Basically, I'd like to really understand the Grinder culture as it is now, how it evolved, how each of you see yourselves against others, and how you see yourselves in 10, 20, 50 years. I don't want you to write my story, I just want to understand yours and use bits of it inside my own universe. I'll leave this as an open ended question, and I invite you to take a look at the aforementioned blog: http://wp.me/28mVy 

Thanks a lot and don't hesitate to ask questions!
Tagged:

Comments