Taser-proof clothing

Just found this earlier today, http://boingboing.net/2014/03/06/make-taser-proof-clothing-with.html

A group of people using carbon fiber linings in clothes to protect themselves from tasers and stun guns.
I remember reading about a thread on subdermal armor for protection from bullets however I have not seen anything regarding electricity conduction.

I am still learning and just thought to share an interesting idea. What do you guys make of this and any ideas pop up on being able to make this
work for us in some way?

*edit* half my post did not show up

Comments

• I suspect you could also use metal window screen if you're on a budget.  The carbon fiber is nice because it is not stiff and would eventually poke through whatever clothes you sewed it into.  If you apply a current to your carbon fiber clothing it will warm up.
  • Wouldn't the metal window screen just act in a way of transferring the electricity everywhere? So basically it would hurt less but would be everywhere instead of one spot?
  • It's the same principal as the carbon fiber clothing.  It's a much lower resistance than your skin so the electricity will favor the path through the metal instead.
  • I was under the impression that it was not the same mechanism. The article states that the carbon fiber absorbs the electricity even if the taser needles have pierced the skin. This is different than what would happen if say, one was wrapped in tin foil or metal screen, right? I'm pretty sure the reason its a big ish deal is because it does something different.

also, I'm looking at that picture of a guy tasing himself and I am almost sure that sticking metal in between that taser and your arm would not contribute to such a calmly framed shot...