Genetic Modification of Yeast and Bacteria to work for us

So I have an idea that you could modify common gut bacteria to fit your needs.  You may be able to make it produce some vitamin or some amino acid that you need and are deficient in.  Also interesting idea would be to modify yeast in bread to produce many more vitamins, minerals, and amino acids allowing one to eat mostly bread for their meals.  I've lot's of ideas for these things.  Is there anyone that would want to work on something like this with me?
Tagged:

Comments

• This has been discussed a bit. Search around both here and on the web. There are some serious roadbloacks that need to be addressed.
  • I have no experience with this company but they probably have the stuff you would need to modify the yeast or bacteria.

http://www.the-odin.com

They have tutorials and information on that website for free.

http://www.the-odin.com/tutorials/

• I suggest pinpointing exactly which chemicals you wish the bacteria/yeast to produce for you, and then find the necessary enzyme chain for producing desired chemical from desired substrate. Are there any specific chemicals/enzymes you wish for bacteria to produce?
  • So you mentioned some roadblocks, what are the main significant ones?

Also when it comes to finding something specific for them to produce, maybe we could make them initially produce Vitamin D.  I think that might be of interest and would be rather useful.
  • Whether or not the bacteria will be able to compete with the others in the gut flora and survive will be one.
  • We would need an enzyme to convert 7-DHC into vitamin D, taking the place of UV light, which would be inhibited by vitamin D.