How safe is a fresh implant when working

edited September 2016 in RFID/NFC
Hey guys. I'm planning to go to Hamburg in a few weeks, and was thinking while I'm there I could get an NFC or RFID Implant at the Dangerous Things Partner. But how safe is it to work with a fresh implant?
I work as a mechanic, but it's not as greasy and oily as a car mechanic. Should I worry? I would get it between my thumb and index finger.

Thanks
Tagged:

Comments

• It closes up by itself after a few days. If you can, take a few days off. If you can't wear a good pair of gloves.
  • i was water tubing and doing construction nearly 24hrs after implanting mine. toss some glue,bandaid,electrical tape on and you should be good. just don't go cranking hard on a wrench and be careful as to how you use you hands. like aeris said it only takes a day or two to close up.
  • Most people get the implant on their non-dominant hand so it should be safe from excessive strain.
    From my own experience, your biggest challenge is keeping it clean. Toxins, like oil, are bad news but it's about as risky as working with a bad cut. My 2¢ is that you wouldn't need time off. Like Aeris said, wear gloves and like Meanderpaul said, keep supplies handy.
  • I have been wondering this a bit too. I work in a machine shop so oil is everywhere. I also use both my hands just about equally, and gloves are against OSHA regs. I do cut my hands on occasion though, and band aid with some electrical tape has never been an issue. I might take a couple days off just to be safe.
  • Gloves are against Osha? That's contrary to what I've been taught. What type of machine shop are you in?

Just a side question for my own information with absolutely no relevance. @eggit
  • Here's the OSHA regulations.

"Safe work procedures are formal, written instructions which
    describe how a task is to be performed. These procedures should
    incorporate appropriate safe work practices, such as prohibiting