Making new m31 to fill the shortage

edited March 2016 in Magnets
To fill the shortage of M31s I ordered some magnets that are nickel coated 3 mm x 1 mm Disk magnets and have talked to a company that does medical grade titanium nitride coatings. I am going to have two magnets coated as a test to see if this is a viable option. Does anyone see why this would not work? Or any reason why this would not be safe to implant?

Comments

• I believe the general consensus is that a nickel plated magnet is a no-no. If the TiN layer fails while it is inside of you then your body will be exposed directly to the nickel. It won't kill you obviously, but your magnet will probably reject, which could lead to all sorts of other bad things.

With this sort of thing, redundancy is key. The more bio-safe layers, the better. It would be helpful if you could start off with a gold plated magnet. Perhaps you could have more than one layer of the TiN coating as well.

I am no expert though.
  • @cassox do you think this will work?
  • @chrisbot The guy at the plating company was planning on coating one side, flipping it over, then coating the other. That means that theoretically the sides have two layers however as you said if the ends fail that could be an issue.
  • @Youdontunderstand
    Think about it like a shadow, the coating can't reach the other side and that is why he plans to flip it over. How much worse is nickel than neodymium? I don't know, but I would not want to find out. Things we say like that comes from experience and multiple points of views. Hence why I prefer something I can verify on this bored vs something I read off of google.

Sincerely,
    John Doe
  • Ni-Cu-Ni will introduce heavy metal poisoning via nickel saturation, which usually results in heavy localised swelling, pain, pus buildup... it's really nasty.

NdFeB failure isolates twords the Boron exposure moreso than anything... I think... don't quote me on that. but also very bad for you. Also very painful.