Implantable EEG Electrodes

So, i've been in the process of designing my own little home EEG setup, and one of the things that i've looked into a lot is the whole business of electrode attachment. Typically, electrodes are either active dry and held by some sort of headband, headset or something similar (reasonably expensive) or the electrodes are passive and are attached via saline gel or paste, possibly in addition to some other adhesive (messy, inconvenient). I was wondering if it would be feasible to have electrode attachment points implanted directly into the scalp, either via a sub-dermal implant or a scalp piercing.

I have no experience with piercings in general, so how exactly would i go about with something like this? What would be the biggest problems and challenges, and what complications could I potentially run into?

Tagged:

Comments

• edited February 2016
    I don't know of any that are implanted in the brain through the skull. To my knowledge needle electrodes are implanted along the scalp under the skin, I don't believe them to be permanent either.

Sincerely,
    John Doe

Edit:
    I think there are infection protocols like shaving the head and such.
  • EEG signals are very noisy because they have to pass through the skull to get to the electrodes. Going sub-dermal will circumvent the skin, but won't solve the biggest issue, namely the skull. The only thing you might achieve is an easier set-up of the system, of you have some kind of plug implanted in your skin. But this sounds like it would be prone to injury, tearing, etc. Piercing the skull or even shaving off parts of it is generally a bad idea. The skull is very thick and strong but for a good reason: Its job is to protect your most important organ.