Writing a research paper on implantation, evolution, and ethics - seeking input

edited June 2015 in Community
Hello, my name is Jen Larsen, and I am an undergraduate student writing a research paper about human evolution, implantation, and the future of the human body. My general thesis (for now) is that human evolution is no longer happening in the traditional sense, therefore we must accelerate implant research in order to provide control over the unforeseen changes that we may be causing on ourselves. 

I am going to argue that implantation is not being researched radically enough in the medical community, since it primarily targets individuals with disabilities or medical needs, and that since each individual with a need is distinctly different, there is not enough broad-based implantation work being studied to provide an overall system that can adapt to every body without specific study. Intelligent implantation systems are needed for all, and we can't get the data we need just on case-by-case basis from single, unique implantations on the disabled.

I will argue that FDA approval is too slow, doesn't allow doctor discretion when using devices, and doesn't allow (or does it? I honestly can't tell) implantation on able-bodied individuals. Since able-bodied implantation is happening anyway (cmon, look at gianormous breast implants, why are those ok but a magnet is considered weird?) , the best thing to do is accept it since it does provide valid information that the scientific community can use to advance implantation for the good of everybody.