MEA Project - call for collaborators

Hello, I'm AmmonRa, some of you might have seen me around the forum.

I want to undertake a rather ambitious project. 

To recreate Warwick's neural interface.

Below I'll go into more detail, but the TL;DR version is:
I am a programmer, I will be funding this project with $10k USD of my own money.
I need an electrical engineer to design/build the circuitry.
I need someone with medical knowledge to advise about system design/implementation.

Do you have the skills needed and are interested in collaborating with me on this project?

Read below for more details about what I'm planning, and let me know your skills!

Outline for MEA project

Budget: $10k
This is to cover all parts needed but not the cost of implanting the device.
Major costs include the MEA itself (probably the Utah Array from Blackrock Microsystems, possibly available for $4k) and bio-proofing the device (possibly paying Steve Haworth to do it).
Other more minor costs will be things like ICs and PCBs. If there is money left over after the device is completed, it could be put towards the cost of having a prototype implanted, but this is not a concern when designing the system.

The general plan for this system is to keep it as simple and single purpose as possible. Remember "your body is not a handbag". To that end, there will be no battery, and no LEDs. This helps to keep the system simple and power requirements low. After all, the major issue with Cicada was the battery.

My current plan is to have the system made of 3 main components: The MEA, a low power microcontroller, and a data/power transceiver.