How I plan to insert my first finger magnet.

edited February 2015 in Procedures
Just bought some magnets and I'm planning on inserting my first magnet this week. I'm going to go over my planned methodology but please feel free to offer me give me pointers or tell me where I'm doing something stupid because I'm a complete noob when it comes to this.

I ended buying from http://www.guysmagnets.com and purchased:
100 * 1mm, 0.5mm N35 disks
20 * 1mm, 1mm N35 disks
5 A4 Magnetic sheets (for another project)

I'll start by using the 1mm, 0.5mm and I might use one of the bigger ones at a later date. 

They are uncoated so I'm going to have to do that bit myself. This is the bit I'm most unsure about so please offer me advice if you know a better way of doing this. I'm thinking of melting some PLA in a test tube  and dipping the magnet in one side, letting it solidify then dipping the other side in. 

I'll borrow a quicktag gun from work to insert the magnet. It shouldn't have any trouble piercing the skin as new blades can cut through leather with no trouble whatsoever.
I'll use a new needle and sterilize it along with the magnet then prepare a bucket of ice water. As it's sterilizing I'll wash my hands again, numb my left hand in the ice and apply rubbing alcohol to kill any nasties left on my hands. Then I'll insert the magnet in to the needle and pierce it through under my ring finger pad of the left hand and pull the trigger. the needle is steel so I'll use another magnet to remove it from the end of the needle and then finally apply a band aid. I heal very quickly and the needle is thin enough that the would should close over in about 12 hours so I don't think I'll need to bother with stitching.

If this is successful I'll be inserting another magnet in the other hand the week after then doing the same for each index finger.
Tagged:

Comments