Funding for research, and forming groups

edited March 2017 in Community
we all seem to be short on funds, and I understand that doing things cheap is part of the ideology but if we want to make real progress I think real, expensive, R&D and to that you need funds I haven't seen anyone try to apply for grants, start a Kickstarter, or anything else similar to that so my question is why not and if you all would be interested in  forming either a non-profit, company, or 

these are all groups that grants.gov awards grants to I have been looking for individual grants for about a month now and there are none for things useful to the world of biohacking. But for groups it's another story heck becoming a group is good for plenty of other reasons too

Tagged:

Comments

• I have some experience in nonprofits. Maybe there are education grants that could be twisted to fit into biohacking? A nonprofit could also be a good vehicle to get donations from more wealthy transhumanists for research purposes?
  • @Skankt had a 501(c)(3) with transhumanism at its core. No grants were applied for and it went under. Running a 501(c)(3) does entail a lot of legal mumbo-jumbo, as he will tell you but there's potential. Talk to him if you want to get started. He incorporated in Minnesota.
  • I... will... join this group's discussion and contribute in ways I can, but won't go so far as to put my name on anything that the government can see. Like a registered organization.