Wearable haptics reacting to determine direction of sound?

New forum member here,
Hello everyone! First some basic backstory on myself, A few months ago I suffered Sudden Sensoneural Hearing Loss. (SSHL) This has left me completely deaf in my left ear. This has removed my ability to determine the direction any given sound is coming. I am a biologist and have always been interested in transhumanism and body modification. This forum seemed like a great place to learn and experience new ideas. Now on to the meat of the question.

Humans require two points of reference (ears) to sense the direction a sound is coming from. Sound coming from one side is detected by that sides ear and the other ear picks of the sound a fraction of a second later, the brain then interprets the time difference to determine direction and to a much lesser degree, distance. Would it be possible to design a pair of wearables that work in concert with hearing aids to determine whatever sound is loudest and vibrate to give a rough sense a sounds direction?

My initial thought is that a good position for this would be a necklace that vibrates on either the left or right side of the neck, input being sent from a pair of modified hearing aids such as a CROS system. While you wouldn't be able to pinpoint sounds you would at least know what side they were coming from.

Tagged:

Comments

• edited September 2016
    @Unlucky_Strikes,
    Sounds like the idea could work to me.  If all you want from this device is to tell you which direction the loudest sound is coming from, using an Arduino and a couple sound detectors might be able to detect which microphone (left or right) has the highest signal.  From there, it should be easy to turn on a vibrating motor on whichever side you want.

Background noise would probably be a problem but maybe you could just filter the microphone signals to only use sounds above a certain level to determine direction.